Skip to main content

Reunion 2012

Six alumni will be honored by the College and the Alumni Association during Reunion 2012. The honorees will be recognized for their contributions to the Connecticut College community and their impact on the world. This year’s honorees are:

Adam Boros ’02
Harriet Buescher Lawrence ’34 Prize for outstanding contributions to society
Adam is director of programming for Joint Aid Management (JAM), a South Africa-based, not-for-profit organization working to empower Africans to create better lives for themselves. The organization’s current programs include provision of nutritional food, water and sanitation; technical training on agriculture development and income generation; and nutrition and health education and training. Adam received a master’s degree in development studies from the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. As Adam is in South Africa, his parents will accept the award on his behalf.

Carol Blake Boyd ’72
Agnes Berkley Leahy Award for outstanding service and participation in class, club or Board of Directors activities
Carol, the class agent chair for the class of 1972, serves on her class’s Reunion committee as they celebrate their 40th Reunion this year. She has consistently led her class towards successful and rewarding class gifts. Previously, she served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors and worked as a class correspondent. Carol is an active advocate for the Annual Fund and speaks to her peers in the Florida region about the importance of giving back. She also hosts an annual Naples alumni event that helps bring awareness of Connecticut College to community high school students.

Connor Donahue ’07 (to be awarded posthumously)
The Mach Arom ’89 Alumni Award for service to Connecticut College and for distinguished achievements in his or her professional field or within society
During his time at Connecticut College, Connor founded the New London Music Tutoring program, dedicated to bringing music to underprivileged children in the local area. After graduation, Connor worked as dean of students at Prep for Prep, a not-for-profit organization committed to improving educational opportunities for underserved youth in New York. Connor then went on to work at SingleStop USA, an innovative organization committed to ending poverty on a national level. In 2009, Connor was selected by the N.Y.U. Wagner School for Public Services for a Fellowship for Emerging Leaders in Public Services (FELPS). Connor’s family will be on campus to accept the award in his honor.

Priscilla Geigis ’87
Alumni Tribute Award for sustained and extraordinary service to the College
Priscilla has been a volunteer for Connecticut College continuously since graduation. She has volunteered in many roles - including class president; class agent; admissions representative; prelaw advisor; forum member; and job shadow student mentor. She is currently volunteering on the Reunion committee helping to plan her class’s milestone 25th Reunion.

Deborah Murray Sloan ’67
The Goss Award for a member of the Alumni Association who has made a significant contribution to the Connecticut College community
Deborah has volunteered for the College in various capacities since graduation. She has volunteered her time and expertise as a class agent, class agent chair and as a Reunion committee member for her upcoming 45th Reunion. Her dedication to the College and her class are evident in the successful class gift efforts she has led.

Leslie Rosen ’02
The Mach Arom ’89 Alumni Award for service to Connecticut College and for distinguished achievements in his or her professional field or within society
Leslie, an associate at the law firm of Paul Hastings Janofsky and Walker LLP, was honored with an award from the Sanctuary for Families at the Above & Beyond Pro Bono Achievement Awards & Benefit for creating one of the largest U Visa projects in New York City. Leslie and other young associates devoted hundreds of hours to complex cases involving immigration, international family reunification, child custody and orders of protection.


November 18, 2011