Skip to main content

Alumni from 1993, 1991, 1987, 1982 and 2011 join Board of Trustees

At its May meeting, the Board of Trustees unanimously elected five new members who bring a diverse array of professional experience and strong College connections to their service on the board.

“As we begin our second century, we are very fortunate to have this outstanding group of new trustees in this important leadership role,” said President Lee Higdon.

The newly elected trustees are:

Debo P. Adegbile ’91 of New York City is associate director-counsel/director of litigation at the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund (LDF). As an alumnus he has served as a distinguished speaker/panelist, a class agent and a member of the prelaw advisory committee. He was honored with the Agnes Berkeley Leahy Award in recognition of his service to the College at Centennial Reunion 2011.

Christy Burke ’93 of New York, N.Y. is founder and president of Burke & Co., a communications agency specializing in public relations, marketing and organizational management. She serves on the Alumni Board and is a Reunion Committee member. Burke and Jim Moran ’92 founded the Connecticut College Entrepreneurs Forum, which offers lunchtime events about business strategies in midtown Manhattan.

Jonathan H. Cohen ’87 of Greenwich, Conn., is CEO of both Technology Investment Capital Corp. and Oxford Lane Capital Corp. and is the managing member of BDC Partners. He was named one of the 25 best U.S. analysts by both Bloomberg and Financial World magazine. Cohen has participated in the College’s Passport Program for the past several years.

George S. Rogers ’82 of Bloomfield, Mich., is president and CEO of WPP-Team Detroit, a joint venture comprising the Detroit-based marketing communication offices of WPP, the world’s largest communications services group. Rogers is currently a director of Think Detroit Police Athletic League Inc. and St. Andrews Endowment.

Gary Ng ’11 was elected by the Class of 2011 to be a Young Alumni Trustee. An international student from Singapore, he double majored in economics and mathematics and minored in psychology. A Winthrop Scholar, Ng is also the recipient of the Ruby Turner Morris Prize for Economics and the Walter Brady Prize for Statistics.

Additionally, David B. Kelso P’09 of Summit, N.J., was re-elected to a second board term. A member since 2007, he is vice-chair of the Committee on Student Life & Enrollment Design and a member of the Finance Committee. The founder of Kelso Advisory Services, Kelso serves as a senior adviser in the areas of financial expertise, strategy and corporate governance to hedge fund and private equity clients.

Six trustees retire; one earns emeritus status

Six members of board have retired and a longtime member was honored with emeritus status. Raymond J. Debbane P'09 '13, Menzi Lukhele ’08, John F. Niblack P’98, Thomas A. Sargent ’82, W. Carter Sullivan ’79, and Sally Susman ’84 all retired this year.

Rae Downes Koshetz ’67, who served on the board from 2003-10, was named an emeritus trustee. As a trustee, she served on the Advancement & Communications Committee and the Audit Committee and was vice chair of the Faculty Liaison Committee. She also served as the president of the Alumni Board of Directors.

June 15, 2011

Related News & Media

Recent News