Danielle Egan, Professor of Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality Studies and Chair of the Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality Studies Department, was appointed Dean of the Faculty effective July 1, 2022.

The highest ranking officer after the president, the Dean of the Faculty is responsible for providing academic leadership for the College and its faculty. The dean provides leadership for the College’s educational mission, supports faculty development, and ensures the quality of the College curriculum. The dean is responsible for overseeing all academic departments, programs, and interdisciplinary centers, as well as the department of Physical Education and Athletics; stewarding the appointment, promotion and tenure of individual faculty members; identifying new chairs and program directors; reviewing the faculty compensation program; and administering the academic budget.

Those reporting to the Dean of the Faculty include the Associate Dean of the Faculty, the Associate Dean for Global Initiatives, the Director of Athletics, the Director of the Children’s Program, the Director of the Arboretum, and the Director of Arts Programming.

Deborah Eastman, Professor of Biology, was appointed Associate Dean of the Faculty effective July 1, 2022.

Deborah supports department chairs on the hiring of visiting and adjunct faculty and coordination of visiting committees for departmental 10-year reviews and self studies. She is responsible for tracking sabbatical eligibility and supporting the Committee on Faculty Compensation (CFC) in reviewing sabbatical requests. Deborah oversees faculty funding and professional development opportunities through the R.F. Johnson Faculty Development Fund, Susan Eckert Lynch ’62 Faculty Research Fund, the Elizabeth McGuire and Anthony T. Enders Fund, and the Research Matters Fund. She serves on the Academic Administrative Procedure Committee (AAPC) and the Facilities and Land Management Committee (FLMC) and convenes the Calendar Committee as well as the New Faculty Orientation Committee.

In addition to all academic departments and programs, the Dean of Faculty division includes the: