The Helen B. Regan Faculty Leadership Award

For outstanding service in a leadership role

The Helen B. Regan Faculty Leadership Award recognizes faculty members who exemplify the College's commitment to shared governance, democratic process and campus community development.

Helen Regan retired from Connecticut in 2006 and is a professor emeritus of education. During her 21-year career at Connecticut College, she served in many roles at the College beyond teaching generations of students. She chaired the education department, coordinated the secondary certification program, was dean of the faculty, interim president of the Lyman Allyn Art Museum, special assistant to the president and interim vice president for Advancement, associate provost/associate dean of the faculty, and special assistant to the provost.

After bestowing the inaugural award to Eugene Gallagher, Rosemary Park Professor of Religious Studies, in October, 2006, Frances Hoffmann, dean of the faculty, stated that the award "acknowledges the deep commitment we have to the development of a humane, respectful, participatory campus community dedicated to individual growth and to the collective good, and it acknowledges the critical role that faculty play in forging that nature of community."

Recipients of the Helen B. Regan Award:

2014: Andrea Lanoux, Slavic studies

2013: Lawrence Vogel, philosophy

2012: Ann S. Devlin, psychology 

2011: Candace Howes, economics

2010: Robert Askins, biology

2009: Joan Chrisler, psychology

2008: Bridget Baird, mathematics and computer science

2007: Dirk t. D. Held, classics

2006: Eugene Gallagher, religious studies

Contact Information:


Dean of the Faculty
Connecticut College
270 Mohegan Avenue
New London, CT 06320-4196