Chemistry Department Newsletters

Chemistry department hosts 2009 ACS Symposium

The chemistry department at Connecticut College hosted the American Chemical Society, Connecticut Valley Section's 2009 Undergraduate Symposium and Awards Luncheon on Sat., April 25, 2009.

Chemistry Seminar Series

The chemistry department sponsors a series of seminars every semester with guest speakers.

Zimmer named 2007 Connecticut Professor of the Year

Marc Zimmer, Professor of Chemistry, known for recruiting and mentoring women and minorities in the sciences, was named the 2007 Connecticut Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). He is an expert on bioluminescence.

NSF grants total $1 million+

The National Science Foundation recently awarded Connecticut College more than $1 million in four separate grants to help the college advance its dynamic science program and engage next-generation scientists. Two chemistry professors are among the recipients. Marc Zimmer, professor of chemistry, received a S-STEM grant of $513,900 to support the College's efforts to increase the number of its students graduating with a degree and research experience in chemistry, physics, environmental science, neuroscience and laboratory-based biological sciences.

Another NSF grant supports efforts by David K. Lewis, Margaret W. Kelly Professor of Chemistry, to further study and understand the energetic and dynamic details of chemical reactions. Read the Oct.18, 2007 news release for more details.

Contact Information:



Department of Chemistry
Hale Laboratory
Connecticut College
270 Mohegan Avenue
New London, CT 06320-4196